PASTs VAULT

IMG_2100

   National Museum caters a spot of the history of the Philippines, and given a chance to visit it is a humble experience. I’m not a fan of arts because I think it is a bit intimidating. But it’s still a cool activity for me, which is one of my dreams that is already crossed out of my to-do list. I honestly thought it would be a long boring stroll. But the place is quite striking, because of it’s simple elegance. The facade looks old but worthy. It reminds me of the tea cup my late grandparents owned which was always used but embraces the family’s history.

IMG_1865

    The first art work that would welcome you is this gorgeous Untitled (Diwata) statue by Guillermo E. Tolentino.

IMG_1871

IMG_1874

And we were in awe when we saw the famous Spoliarium of the renowned paintor Juan Luna. The painting is huge, measuring four meters in height and seven meters in width.

IMG_1876

We were still in the main gallery but we can’t seem to remove our sights with this huge and stunning works.

The museum has respective rooms or Gallery number to enclose the art work concepts. I didn’t get the chance to photograph all the galleries (my apologies) because of the time.

IMG_1880

This is the Retablo (Side Altar) in Bohol ca. 18th century. We all know that the Philippines is conquered by the Spaniards hence the considerable Spanish influence.

IMG_1888

IMG_1897

IMG_1948

IMG_1899

IMG_1901

IMG_1942

IMG_1941

IMG_1938

This are some of the shots.

IMG_1906

IMG_1904

One of the reason an art work captures my attention is the frame. The intricate detail adds character to the painting. I randomly ( probably weird) told my sister if I were to pick something from this place, one of it would be the dainty frames.

IMG_1898

This is one of my favorite 🙂 It’s a simple portrait but given the frame made it more elegant and classic.

The whole place is dimly lit so it showed the tranquility of the rooms. It has a huge space so people could clearly appreciate all the artworks for themselves. Plus, it was not creepy at all, I swear, my impression of a museum is all horror but the place looks peaceful but not on a weird way 😉 I’m obviously talking as first time museum guest.

IMG_1909

IMG_1908

IMG_1911

IMG_1915

IMG_1916

IMG_1926

Some of the impressive carvings of the exhibits archive.

IMG_1969

IMG_1972

IMG_1973

IMG_1974

IMG_1977

I’m not sure if I’d be in awe or sad with this particular room. The place has a peculiar vibe but still amazing. It showed how the places I knew was once destroyed by the war and how drastic the past were. But as I’ve said I’m also amazed because you can really feel how the people felt with each artwork so I guess the artists gave justice to it.

IMG_1956

Even their doors are picture perfect, I can’t help taking a selfie 😉

IMG_1983

IMG_1985


And I’m so entertained with this display of creativity and wit. My friends and I are like “What?! They also improvise?!”. Well, artists will be artists whenever and however they want it to be.

IMG_1980

IMG_2024

IMG_2072

IMG_2045

This are some of our snippets 😀

And of course, an obligatory outfit shot 😉

IMG_2022

IMG_2021

IMG_2109

PANTS // MANGO

SANDALS // PARISIAN

TOP //  JELLYBEAN

BAG // ENZO DESIGN

ACCESSORIES // CELINE

flaceM

Heart-pink-bunny-silhouette-vector - Copy

8 thoughts on “PASTs VAULT

  1. OMG! good thing you posted this. 🙂
    I may now ask you since my dad has been asking me on how to visit National Museum. haha. Is it open for public? and does it require fees? and it’s really allowed to take some photos? I know and obviously you took photos.. but I just wanna make sure. THANKS.

    I’ll do my outfit there too soon. Wahahaha!

    April of: http://beybiapril.wordpress.com/
    Twitter and IG: @beybiapril

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi April,
      Sorry it took so long for me to reply, haven’t had time to drop by the blog. Yes it is open for public. And sorry but I don’t know the exact entrance fee coz when we went there it was the Museum and Galleries Month so a lot of museums are open in public for free. And yes you can surely take stunning outfit shots there. I haven’t had that much time because we arrived pretty late at around 3 pm. It’s closing at 5… and by the way, its not open on mondays 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

